Thee Oh Sees//Wand @ the Teragram Ballroom (1/6)

img_2587

Last night the masses gathered for the first of two sold-out shows at the wonderful Teragram Ballroom in Downtown Los Angeles in support of LA Kitchen, a project that aims to “reclaim healthy, local food that would have otherwise been discarded, train men and women who are unemployed for jobs, and provide healthy meals to fellow citizens.”  As I had to work until the show began, I arrived at the Teragram right after the first artist, one Shannon Lay, had finished performing.

The second group to perform, and the one with whom I was most familiar, was Wand, a psychedelic, glammy, garage rock band with some crunch to ‘em led by Cory Hanson (vocals//guitar) and Evan Burrows (drums), both of which are also been members of Ty Segall’s current band, The Muggers.

Having seen Wand once a little over a year before, this was a different experience. For one, they’ve added a keyboardist to their lineup, a woman by the name of Sofio from what I can tell, and their newer material is, perhaps, a bit more experimental while moving away from the heavier aspect of their sound. Overall, I would say that I enjoyed my first time seeing Wand a bit more, but that could be because I went into it not knowing what to expect whereas this time I had already listened to their albums a bunch and thought it’d be something similar to what I first encountered. Although this set wasn’t what I was expecting to see, Wand still put on a hell of a show!

The last band to go on, and the one headlining both nights, were Thee Oh Sees, a psychedelic garage rock band that, more often than not, borders on a kind of surf punk. These guys are a band that I’ve known about since back in 2013 when I started listening to a lot of Ty Segall but had never really listened to.

Boy, did they make me a believer.

Creator and band leader John Dwyer gave a hell of an energetic performance, intermittently playing guitar with one hand and keys simultaneously with the other while also manipulating sounds with the peddles he had affixed to the keyboard and his amps. At one point he literally slipped and fell down which resulted in him missing several notes, only to get right back up and into the song as though nothing had happened.

This night’s performance really utilized the two drummers that they had on stage with them as well as there were several times during their set that they ventured into what I can only assume were extended jams based on my minimal knowledge of their recorded works.

Thee Oh Sees ended their set with a jam that lasted about 15-20 minutes and was majestic in all its fuzzy, manipulated glory.

For my first time fully listening to Thee Oh Sees and, especially, not know what to expect from seeing them live, I was blown away.

I’m an advocate of seeing a band live before, perhaps, listening to any of their albums or recordings and this show just reinforced that for me. 

If you’re into bands like Ty Segall, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Fuzz, or Meatbodies then I would highly suggest checking both bands, their albums and their live performances out. You won’t be disappointed!

And if you are, well… don’t be a sheep.

Leave a Reply

