The Number 12 Looks Like You @ the Roxy (1/7)

It goes without saying that The Roxy is a legendary venue for concert goers, Hollywood//Los Angeles natives, and those who frequent the Sunset Strip. The Roxy houses a wide array of shows, ranging from hip-hop, electronic, metal, hardcore, indie, and rock. Personally, I’ve been to see artists such as Every Time I Die, Code Orange (Kids), letlive., Loma Prieta, Superheaven, and, including the show that I’m writing about, The Number 12 Looks Like You. Granted, most of those fall into the heavier category but hey, that’s just what I listen to.

For this show I roped two of my best friends into going with me because they had nothing else going on and I can be very persuasive when I feel the need.

That’s not true.

Like, at all.

But that’s neither here nor there.

So, like the Wand//Oh Sees show the night before, I (we) showed up a bit late and missed the first band to perform, a band whose name I can’t seem to remember right now ( :/ ), and arrived towards the second half of Stolas’ set.

From what I saw and am capable of remembering, Stolas was a kind of math rock//progressive band that had a very energetic stage presence. During some of the songs I saw they ventured into a improvised jam with their lead guitarist//backing vocalist directing the flow by crouching down, signaling the others to play softer, and tapping the drummer’s ride cymbal so as to indicate that he should play a quieter beat. For the last song, another jam (I believe), the vocalist moved away from the percussion set he had been playing throughout some of the songs and switched places with the drummer to finish the set off. All in all, I thought Stolas definitely had some interesting parts in their songs and would totally be worth checking out if you’re into stuff that’s like Tides of Man and A Lot Like Birds.

Now, The Number 12 Looks Like You are a band that I’ve been listening to since right before//right after they broke up back in 2009-2010 and gradually got more into as the years went by and my musical tastes developed. As far as I know, this show at The Roxy was one of the first that they’ve played live in the last 6 years. The Number 12 plays a style of mathcore that borders on grindcore in many places and have a super energetic live presence, especially their vocalist, Jesse Korman, who was a bit like the Dillinger Escape Plan’s Greg Puciato, although without the self-destructive aspect.

Throughout their set, Korman would disappear and end up in some other part of the venue. There were several times when he went out through the audience and climbed on top of the railing//barrier separating the “Private//Reserved//VIP” section  from us commoners on the floor and performed all or most of a song perched atop this narrow strip of metal and concrete before hanging out IN the crowd with the audience members, and eventually ending up back on stage. Another time he went up to a balcony above the floor and performed a segment of a song overlooking the crowd.

Also, during their performance of one of my favorite songs, “Glory Kingdom”, both guitarist Alexis Pareja and bassist DJ Scully performed some of the heavier parts standing in the center of a circle pit that had formed around them on the floor while Korman was crowded onstage with the people he’d invited up to sing with him.

To be honest this show was a “oh, they’re getting back together? Fuck it, I’ll check it out” moment but I’m definitely glad that I went to see them after having listened to them for so long. Overall, despite a couple of slip ups in some of the songs, I thought The Number 12 gave a damn good performance for having not played live more than a handful of times in the last 6 years. 

If you’ve got the chance and are into bands like the Dillinger Escape Plan, the Tony Danza Tap Dance Extravaganza, Fear Before the March of Flames, Heavy Heavy Low Low, or, to a lesser extent, the Fall of Troy, then definitely check these guys out if they’re performing anywhere near you.

Leave a Reply

