Michael Kiwanuka @ the Fonda (5/18)

2017 is the year of the Fonda.

Michael Kiwanuka is a new British musician who is going for more of a soul/folk vibe and who has been compared to Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield, Bill Withers… you know, the 70s soul musicians.

Personally, I don’t see it.

He’s not a bad singer/musician by any means but his music and his voice, to me, sound nothing like any of those people.

I digress.

I went to this show with my mom, the first in a series of 4 shows this May.

She heard a thing about him on the radio and asked if I wanted to go and I said yeah ‘cos why not? I dig experiencing new music live.

I didn’t listen to any of his stuff beforehand because I just wanted to see what it was like with no expectations, so I don’t know what any of the songs were called or anything like that.

He played a solid set, probably like an hour to and hour and a half. Y’know, basic headlining length.

The music was all pretty mellow, nothing got real crazy so it was cool to just kinda chill and listen.

However, having said that, I don’t see myself at another one of his shows or listening to any of his music on my own for pleasure. Again, this is not to say he makes bad music – it’s just not the kinda thing I would want to listen to.

Maybe because I heard all those comparisons (and I’m big into Marvin/Curtis/Bill) I thought it’d be more soulful/r&b type stuff but it was much more on the soft/alternative/folk side.

But don’t take my word for it, go and listen to him for yourself so you can be the judge.

His songs are getting use more in commercials, shows and movies from what I understand so check him out and go see him before he gets huge and tickets to his shows start costing $50 and up.

Leave a Reply

